Posted by: Kate | January 11, 2015

Learning to Focus

As mentioned by several of you in the comments on the last post, the new camera definitely inspired me to think of the word Focus for this year. I’ve been playing around with the camera, rediscovering what you can do with a manual camera.

I like the idea of changing a picture just by changing how wide open the lens is. Applies to life as well. You can focus on what’s right in front of you, letting the rest of the things around you blur, or you can keep attention on the things in the background as well. Neither option is better or worse, they are just two ways of approach. I need to remember that, that one way isn’t the right way for every situation.

aperture experiment 11

aperture experiment 12

aperture experiment 21

aperture experiment 22

So here’s to my year of experimenting with focus. Up close and full background, and everything in between.

Responses

  1. Great analogy to life…and to your word of 2015. I also like to think about landscapes verus macro…sometimes we need to step back and look at the big picture and other times, it’s the details that are most important. It’s something I think about a lot both in life and photography. Isn’t playing with a new camera and manual settings fun?!

    • I’m having so much fun with it! Although the wet weather does prevent me from taking it out as much as I’d like to.

  2. It is wonderful when we can pause to focus on what’s right in front of our nose. There’s a beautiful world there to see if we’d only stop and look. I am looking forward to seeing more of your photos!

  3. it *is* a great analogy to life, and accompanied by fun photos… i’m glad you’re enjoying your new camera! i’m definitely enjoying the results!

    • The weather hasn’t been too cooperative but I am definitely enjoying it!


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories