Posted by: Kate | December 7, 2016

And so it Goes….

Like so many who started in this blogging world when I did (8 years ago plus now) I am struggling with whether this space has outlived itself. Does the blog still provide what I need or want from it? I now share my photos on Instagram (Coastalkate) and I am on Facebook with my close friends.

img_2547

I still have stories to tell. If my mind could just write whenever it started composing, I would have many posts here. But I work on a computer all day, and the effort to sit down and write after work hours seems to elude me these days (this is the same issue with some letters that are far overdue, by the way).

img_2545r

I am not ready quite yet to bid the blog good-bye. I am going to take a break until the New Year. In that time I will think about what this blog means to me and what purpose the space may still serve.

img_2558

In the meantime, I wish you all a wonderful holiday season. May you find time for friends, family and yourself in this busy month.

img_2559

Responses

  1. God speed dear Kate and your beautiful family. I’ve missed reading “you”, your thoughts, your gorgeous pictures, the friendships you’ve formed. Yesterday I was thinking about my word of the year for 2017. It’s popped into my brain so many times, so this is the word ~ calm. Calm. Calm. Calm.

    Have yourselves a v merry Christmas. “See” you later!

    ♡ Kim aka treblemaker

  2. I love hearing from you Kate! Your photos and book reviews always get me thinking :). Maybe add me on Facebook? I’m always there…

  3. I would hate to see you stop blogging, but I have to say I can also relate. I have a difficult time getting a post out every few weeks now, whereas before I used to post a couple of times a week. I’ve been thinking about stopping too. I just started following you on Instagram.

  4. I was expecting this post given the reduced frequency that you’ve shared in this space lately. It makes me sad but I can certainly relate since I’m having those same struggles with my space. I keep trying to do different things to keep the momentum up to post but I just can’t seem to make it happen. I finally got an instagram account so I can keep track of so many of the bloggers that have left for that platform but so far I haven’t posted anything (I don’t have a smartphone and haven’t felt the urge to figure out how to upload without a smartphone). I like scrolling through the photos each day but I just don’t think it replaces the blog — it is more snapshots rather than anything of substance. Whatever you decide, I’ll keep track of you on whichever platform works best for you. And of course with our letters — even if they are few and far between! ;)

  5. OK, the comments make me think I do still have a voice here separate from the other platforms. We shall see what it looks like as the new year moves forward.

  6. Love visiting you here (as well as on Instagram) and hearing your ‘voice’ sharing the wonders of Nature in the beautiful place that you call home. Hope you’ll stay! Wishing you and your family and happy and peaceful Christmas and New Year. Love Ros x


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories