Posted by: Kate | June 29, 2011

Tastes of Summer

Well, it may not look much like summer this week, but at least in my garden it is starting to taste like summer! Only about three weeks behind schedule (in 2009 we were eating raspberries by now), the strawberries are finally getting red.

I love how the seeds go red first.

I cleaned out the strawberry bed last fall and it has made a big difference this year in the size of the berries and the health of the plants. I’m hoping to get enough berries for jam, although there is stiff competition to even get them into the house around here!

Responses

  1. Strawberries are my favorite – I will have to come up with something yummy to make using them.

  2. Ah, there’s nothing quite like freshly-picked strawberries from your own garden :) They’re looking great, nice & juicy red, well worth the wait. Enjoy!

    Wish I had some of your berries as I plan to make a Strawberry Pie for Canada Day BBQ & fireworks watching with our new landlords/friends. If anyone wants the recipe, please let me know & I’ll be happy to oblige. btw – the strawberries stay fresh, they’re not cooked, so it’s a nice, refreshing dessert.

  3. There is absolutely nothing better than strawberries picked fresh from the garden! When I eat the first bowl of the season I always wonder why I bothered to buy any of those plastic berries from California while I was waiting for the real ones to appear at the market!

  4. We do not have enough plants to make jam, but the earliest riser gets a treat.


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories