Posted by: Kate | June 26, 2016

Summer Starts Here

We are approaching summer very differently this year. No big trips, only some shorter camping trips and a jaunt to Victoria. I am determined to enjoy summer in my backyard, both literally and more figuratively.


Summer weather arrived this weekend just in time for the annual  chainsaw carving competition. We’ll go back later this week to get pictures of the final products, but it was fun watching the carvers work this week-end.


I got another patch cleared in the garden. Satisfying, sweaty work! So overgrown.


The vegetable garden is well in hand, with fresh potatoes and the first handful of peas this week.


I’m enjoying this slower paced start to summer and look forward to a home-grown couple of months.

Responses

  1. Sometimes it’s easy to forget what’s right under our noses. Thanks for the reminder. Have a good summer.

    • And you! I try really hard to not get jaded about where I live. The grass is pretty green on this side… ;)

  2. Everything looks so great! I love driving through Chetwynd and seeing all the chainsaw art — what some of those folks do with a chainsaw is pretty freaking amazing!

    • It is pretty cool! I haven’t got down to take more photos yet – the sun has disappeared a bit in the last week or so!


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories