Posted by: Kate | April 17, 2015

Rhubarb Musings

rhubarb apr5

I love rhubarb. Those vibrant red stalks and shiny green platter size leaves that burst out of the ground in early spring always make me smile. As a child I loved stewed rhubarb, made with rhubarb fresh from the garden. And now I use rhubarb in baking, jams and in my morning oatmeal. My one plant is so prolific I end up freezing some and giving away lots as well. It’s one of the those plants that thrives on neglect once it’s in the right place in the garden, never sulking or asking for preferential treatment. My kind of plant!

Responses

  1. The rhubarb I planted a couple years ago is doing great and I will be able to start harvesting this year. I inherited four rhubarb tubers from my grandma’s garden and they all came up. In a few years I will have tons of rhubarb. We love it!

    • The boys don’t like it stewed, but otherwise they love it in baking and jams. Have fun with harvesting!!

  2. i love that rhubarb thrives on neglect!
    infact i just noticed yesterday that my rhubarb was growing away unnoticed in the corner of my garden. such a sweet little plant, can’t wait to eat it! ha!

    • Yeah, anything that thrives on benign neglect is a plant for me!

  3. Ha ha! We’ve just eaten rhubarb crumble from our very own sticks this evening. It’s really delicious! Ros

    • Time for me to harvest!

  4. Lovely pic of your super fresh rhubarb. Either you love it or you don’t. I love it in Spring.

    I’m not a fan of a crumble, whether it be apple. Rhubarb, peach. I usually bake a crumble for special people. Maybe. Everybody else loves crumble. I sometimes, bake a pie.

    Enjoy!

    • There are many kinds of crumble, some I am not such a fan of either.

  5. Rhubarb! I planted my first at the end of February. It’s so difficult not to harvest this first year…

    • Self restraint is so over-rated ;-)

  6. The last treat I made for John before he left for Canada…another tradition…strawberry-rhubarb pie. i have to admit that while I do like the flavor of rhubarb, the smell of it cooking turns my stomach a bit. So I eat and enjoy the pie, but leave the house when it is baking! Also — i am testament that rhubarb survives under neglect…although i’m not sure it can take many more years of it!

    • Huh, the smell hey? Never know what it is that turns one off.


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories