Posted by: Kate | March 26, 2015

Grateful

As I drove home today I watched a bald eagle swoop low over the road as it circled a stand of fir trees. It’s coming up to nesting season and the eagles are playing. Not a day goes by that I don’t see an eagle, either a juvenile getting ready to start out on its own or an adult lazily surveying the land.

Every time I vow to myself that I will never take this gift for granted. That I will always be grateful that we live in this place, where eagles are an everyday occurrence, sea lions cruise our shores and majestic mountains stand sentinel over our land. I read about nature deprivation, and nature classes for children and lives lived in grey and concrete and massive city blocks.

I am fiercely grateful.

beach mar 22

Responses

  1. Awesome! I would go out of my mind if I were there. You, indeed, live in a special part of the world. I’d be fiercely proud, too.

    • I think of you every time I see them!

      • I love that I have a connection with you & the amazing eagles :-) I haven’t seen one yet this year. Yet.


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories