Posted by: Kate | March 20, 2015

Forty-Two

As we were leaving a meeting the other night someone said to me, “Kate, you look great these days. Your hair is lovely, you look so healthy. Do you feel different? Do you notice it?”

I looked at her and said, “I’m embracing my 40s.”

It’s the truth. This week I turned 42. I feel great, even if I do have an extra five pounds this decade that I am determined to lose. I love colouring my hair and wearing it long again. I feel more confident in who I am and who I want to be.

I think part of that is Bushboy getting older. I was exhausted in my 30s. That kid didn’t sleep and as a spirited child he quite naturally demanded a lot of my attention both physically and mentally. I didn’t have much of myself to spare for, well, myself. But now he is older and those demands have drastically reduced. I’m looking at my life as mine again. And I’m appreciating it.

I don’t wish I could go back and redo anything, as I believe you are who you need to be at any given time. But I am glad I have found this contentment with myself and this confidence. I like who I am, and feel no need to make apologies anymore. I’m walking lighter these days.

light in trees

Responses

  1. Happy Birthday, Kate! What you are discovering about being in your forties becomes even more pronounced in one’s fifties. You have lots to look forward to!

    • Thanks Kristie, love that!

  2. Hope you had a lovely birthday! Ros

    • I did, thanks Ros.

  3. Happy birthday! So glad you’re in a good place.

    • Me too. Thanks!

  4. Happy Birthday, Kate! Love this post.

    • Thanks Sarah!

  5. oh Kate, I love everything about this post. i have more to say on the topic, but will deliver it in a different form. ;) In the meantime, happy happy birthday. I too, am turning 42 this year…we can embrace it together!

    • Together it is!!

  6. happy birthday! you do 42 very proud- so wonderful to know how much contentment you are enjoying now. so well deserved!

    • Thanks Claire!

  7. Happy birthday Kate! I’m so happy to hear that you’re enjoying life more now you’re in your forties. You’re looking good, girl! And it just keeps getting better, maybe a few more wrinkles, I happen to love wrinkles, always have. They show life experiences, joys, pains, life. Beautiful.

    • Thanks Kim!


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories