Posted by: Kate | June 13, 2014

10 Things

I was going to write about the education situation in BC this week, but my thoughts are still loud and jumbled and aggressive, and I don’t have time to think it through for a written piece right now. I still plan on it, and it’s not like the situation is going away any time soon, even if there is a settlement.

So instead, I bring you something I saw on another blog today – 10 things. Feel free to play along!

What is the first thing you do when you wake up in the morning?

Take my IC medication and then go have a shower.

What do you eat for breakfast?

During the week I alternate between oatmeal and toast every other day. On the week-end I might have a poached egg on the non-oatmeal day.

What’s your go-to weeknight meal?

Stir fry or chow mein (noodles, rice or udon). Quick, versatile and fairly healthy still.

Do you do any kind of journaling or memory keeping?

Avid scrapbooker! I used to journal a long time ago. Now I put at least some of that on the blog.

How do you fix your coffee, or do you prefer tea (or neither)? 

Oh I miss coffee.  I can’t drink caffeine, so if I drink any warm beverage it is herbal. My favourite teas are peppermint, vanilla roibois, and ginger mint.

What’s the last good book you read?

Barbara Kingsolver The Lacuna.

If you had a day all to yourself with no schedule, how would you spend it?

Cleaning, knitting, reading, gardening. Too many things, too little time!

What are three things on your life list? 

Huh. I always find these hard. Let’s see: 1. write a book (or rather, finish the book I have started at least). 2. Be debt free (including mortgage). 3. Create and maintain a beautiful garden.

What’s on your nightstand?

Clock, lamp and glasses when I go to bed.

What’s the last thing you do before you go to sleep?

Read. 10 – 30 minutes, depending on the book.

Responses

  1. Fascinating. I haven’t been following the education issue so I’ll be interested in that when you share. I like your 10 items. Maybe I’ll do it this next week.

    • I’ll be interested to see what your 10 things are!

  2. fun kate! i always like these little random peeps into bloggers lives :)

    • Me too!

  3. 1. How do you live without caffeine? 2) How did you like The Lacuna? It’s the only BK book that I haven’t read…and have tried a couple times but never made it past the first few pages… 3) You mentioned journaling and blogging. THAT is one of the struggles I have with returning to blogging. Journaling is not something I’ve ever done well…except when it is directed to someone (blog, letters, emails etc) but I’ve found the groove with it and it is immensely helpful to me. i’m afraid that when I return full-force to blogging, that the journal will get left behind and I’m realizing that is not a good thing. Slowly working through those things.

    Enjoyed this!

    • 1. Not always happily, there are days I ask myself the same thing!
      2. Loved the Lacuna. Takes a while to get into it, but ended up really really liking it, even more than Flight Behavior which I read next. It’s different from her usual style.
      3. Keep what you need to be healthy and happy, and use the other when you can find the balance.

  4. Love these questionnaires. It’s always great to find out a little more about your friends, thx Kate :)


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories