Posted by: Kate | April 9, 2014

Finding the Way

Attended a school board meeting last night, as I do every four weeks. Last night’s was a little depressing. We are coming to budget time, and the treasurer informed the board that this district is facing a deficit of almost $1 million. Declining enrolment and increasing expenses. Some really hard decisions need to be made, as the forecast moving forward is an increasing deficit over the next few years.

It got me thinking about our western system. Wages haven’t increased, certainly not in my house and I think not in many houses, at least not by much. Not anywhere near as much as expenses keep increasing. Food, lights, heat – all cost more now than they did two years ago. We keep making the small adjustments, tightening our belts, reducing our footprint; to fight along. When does the system itself get amended? Who makes those hard decisions?

I don’t have the answers, but am trying to find a way to understand and move through these questions.

In the meantime I get my joy from my family and from my surroundings. Breathe deeply, I remind myself.

estuary april

Campbell River Estuary

Responses

  1. So many school districts are facing the same problem. Declining enrolments and increasing costs. There are no easy answers. I was upset this morning when I read about the cutbacks at the CBC. Cuts to education, arts and culture are so short-sighted. I have no idea how the system fixes itself. Sigh.

  2. Cutbacks are all to common in the UK too! It’s a sorry time! Thank goodness for the simple pleasures around us. Ros

  3. sigh… the same story echos down here… lily’s school is going through a huge transition in the next couple of years, the big changes will take place after she’s moved on to middle school, but there is still so much to be done.
    my two year stint as a member of her school’s governing council is coming to an end at the end of this school year. i have enjoyed being a part of the decision making process, and hope that the parents who will be serving the next term will focus on keeping what is special about her school as we transition to this new phase…


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories