Posted by: Kate | January 5, 2014

One Word 2014

This year was interesting. I have had one word echoing in my head for at least a month now, but I thought it wasn’t pretty enough, or encompassing enough, in its presentation. I contemplated other words, the one that almost got me was Writing. But a smart blogger friend (thank you, Kristie) who knows a thing or two about writing, gave me some good advice. She reminded me that my life is still about the family these days, and if I put more pressure on myself to be producing writing it may be costly pressure.

After more thought and consideration, I have decided to stick with the word that has been going around my head. It is very utilitarian, and may seem boring or too work-oriented for some, but I have ideas that I’m excited to share around it, and I look forward to working with it this year and accepting it into my life in a myriad of ways.

The word I have chosen for 2014 is: ORGANIZE.

To explain….

We’ve been in this house now for 10 years, and there are things that worked when Bushboy was little that aren’t working anymore. There are closets that have gotten full of games we don’t play anymore. There are boxes of papers that need to be sorted. We have new needs now with a teenager in the house, and it is time to sort it out. I need to do a good clear out on my desk, and in my business papers. Again, it’s time to evaluate what is working and what isn’t. Bushboy starts high school this year, and wants to start his first job. We need to make sure we are doing what we can to organize our family time so that it works for all of us.

I looked at words like Method, Balance, Content … all of them are components of what I want to focus on this year but aren’t the big picture. Organize is the big picture. I think after a year of health and getting small details in our finances, health and work attended to, organize is the next logical step. Maybe it’s turning 40. Maybe it’s coping with a teenager. Maybe it’s just the pull of a New Year. It feels like more though. It feels like I’m ready for this.

So, over the year I will be working on various projects. The first one has already begun. The upstairs storage closet is pulled apart as I type, with stacks of games to keep and give away, work binders to get rid of, recycling, and lots of papers to go through. It won’t get done in a day, but it will make our lives better when it is organized and functional.

There you have it, my 2014 word. If you have a word, or a focus, or a resolution for this year, I’d love to hear about it. I have found that talking about my intentions makes me much more likely to have success.

(Just to be clear, choosing organize as my word does not mean I will become some super house keeper. We can’t expect THAT much from one word!)

Responses

  1. Hello Kate! Wishing you and your family a happy, healthy and …… organised 2014! Ros x

    • Thanks Ros. Enjoy your New Year with your new grandbaby!!

  2. I think I’m going to try to do the one-word thing this year. I haven’t for sure settled on a word yet, but I’m leaning towards Focus. There could be some much-needed organization involved in that word. ;-)

    • A good word choice, Amy. One I thought of, but again it didn’t encompass the hands-on work I wanted this year :)

  3. Great word of the year (WOTY), Kate! Organizing has always been in vocabulary, lessons from working as a secretary helped with that, yet I still have work to do!

    I was talking about your WOTY with my 2 sisters and they both loved it! Now we all have the word “Wow” and will email each other on what wow’s us each day! Already it’s been great! Thx Kate!

    • Kim I love that!! What a great way to spend the year, telling each other about your “wow” moments.

  4. kate i think this word is perfect!!
    so much so that i am going to abandon the words i had floating around in my head and adopt yours instead!
    i have so many things i want/need to organize around the house and also some things i would like to do to “organize myself” that this is just the perfect word!
    thank you for the inspiration! this is going to be good!

    • Welcome aboard! Must be something about 2014… I’m excited to spread it out over the year and keep it as a focus. Look forward to hearing how you make it work for you!

  5. Great word choice Kate! It will be interesting to read your updates over the course of the year. I had a laugh over your super house keeper comment. :-)

    • Thanks Kristie!

  6. Hi Kate! I’ll be writing about my word soon. I love yours. My life is very disorganized right now and I don’t think I could take the pressure of the word. And I think there is something more important that I need to focus on. BUT, I can’t wait to follow you on your journey and maybe learn some stuff to apply to my life too! xx

    • There is no way I would have been tackling this with an infant!!!! Looking forward to hearing your word!


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories