Posted by: Kate | November 7, 2013

Pear Butter

I had access to a number of pears this year, and so decided to try my hand at pear butter. I don’t have a slow cooker, so I made it in the oven using this Farm Girl recipe.

First we had to use a food mill, which I borrowed from someone at work. It got the job done amazingly well, once we figured out the technical aspects of it!

food millIt’s such a simple recipe, I added some cinnamon because I love the flavour, and about a 1/4 cup of sugar. That’s it! I made 5 small jars, and have enough pears ripe again to make the same this week. I might add vanilla this time. It smells amazing in the house as it’s cooking, as well.

pear butter2It is amazing on the morning oatmeal, and thick enough you could have it on toast, or on a muffin. Would be good with pork as well. Yum!

pear butter1

 

PS Remember the bean chutney? Well after some time mellowing, I ate the jar in the fridge. It was awesome!! My favourite is with a grilled cheese sandwich.

Responses

  1. oh i love pear butter!! looks delicious!

    • It is!! The problem is I can easily eat a jar in a couple of days :)

  2. Oh my! I can almost smell all that deliciousness from here! Looks great! Ros

    • Thanks, it’s really yummy!!

  3. Yum, yum, this looks good! Pear jam + toast + hot tea = pure bliss.

    I love the food mill you used. I have one (still in a box) of those & they’re great for exactly what you used it for and for mashed potatoes, etc. A very long time ago, my elderly neighbor kindly gave it to me when she was spring cleaning. She was a fabulous knitter, too!

    • My friend was so happy I used her late mom’s food mill.


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories