Posted by: Kate | February 27, 2013

February Health Check In

I know February is a short month and all, but that was ridiculous! So here we are, almost at the end of the month. Time for a check in!

At the beginning of the month I talked about doing work-related tasks for the month. I was somewhat successful.

1. Business cards. Done! They are in the mail and should be here this week. I ordered them through Vistaprint, on a friend’s recommendation. I’ll let you know what I think of them when they get here. On a related note, I’ve started looking at my work website more critically, and am coming up with some ways to clean that up as well and make it match more with the business cards I’ve created.

2. Organization. This was a partial win. Bushboy got a new desk and we brought the small one that had been in his room downstairs. That meant all the stuff that used to live under my desk and the printer table is now in drawers. So it looks better around my desk. My actual files, however, have not really been cleaned up.

3. Writing. The biggest challenge, and one I haven’t really met. Although I am getting up earlier in the mornings, it hasn’t been for writing time but rather for ease of morning organization (dog walking, lunch making, etc). And until I commit to going to bed earlier, I won’t be getting up any earlier! So writing in the wee hours didn’t work. I have certainly thought about this, and especially appreciated all your great suggestions. Talking about it at least brought it to the forefront of my mind, so that is a positive. I’ve also had two editing jobs and a proposal to work on this month, so that would eat into any writing time as well. I can tell you I’ve been composing a lot of poetry in my mind – usually when walking. Maybe some February haikus might make it to the blog tomorrow.

There were a few other health-related things this month. The get away week-end with my friend definitely helped the winter blahs. I have been flossing very regularly, which is a big step for me! I am fortunate to have good teeth, but that doesn’t excuse not taking care of them well enough, so this month I have really made an effort to make flossing a habit. Seems to be sticking with me so far.

Body-wise I could be moving more, and the beginning of February wasn’t great for that (as my snug waist band can attest to). But I’m back on track in the past 10 days or so, and moving once more.

I will be back in a few days with the March challenge. March is a big month around this house, so the challenge might be big, too. Or maybe not :) Stay tuned!

Responses

  1. it sounds like you are making very solid progress kate!
    good for you!

    i’ve let the weather be an excuse for too long and have been very immobile this winter. i need to get off my rear and do something about that!

    are you finding that posting your progress every month on the blog is helping keep you motivated? maybe that’s what i need to do…

  2. February seemed to be 2 days this year didn’t it? Holy cow! It sounds like you made quite a bit of progress on your work goals. And I’m really enjoying your update format. I hope that soon I’ll put up a similar update on my blog but just haven’t gotten there yet.

    I wanted to ask…do you do your writing on your computer or in a notebook. I ask because I wondered if there was any way to merge your movement with adding in writing minutes here and there? Perhaps not until the weather improves but you could maybe take a walk and then mid-way stop and write for however long you can spare…then finish your walk? It may be a ridiculous suggestion but it just occurred to me so I thought I’d share.

  3. I love how you’re keeping up with your health check-ins. It is inspiring to read on how you’ve been flossing. Your words have inspired me (yet again) to continue my oral-health issues. I was doing so well last year & then … dunno what happened.

    Now that warmer weather has finally arrived, oops, I hope I haven’t spoke to soon. Well, I’ve been going outside more and getting more walks in.

    I am really looking forward to reading more of your poetry. You are good & I, for one, would like to encourage you to write more. I just read a little thing that Michaelangelo said to one of his apprentices, he said “Make time”. Make time and practice your craft every day.

    I finally pulled out my enlarger to perhaps start painting again. It’s a start. I found my moleskine watercolour pad (it was lost & when looking for something else, lo & behold, there it was :) No more excuses. Hmmmmm


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories