Posted by: Kate | February 2, 2013

February Health Plan

My plan for February in keeping my Health word focus, is to work on my ‘work’ health. This month is all about getting things done for my business life. Those things that I’ve put on the back burner for so long, and yet wouldn’t take too much of my time and would make both my business and my anxiety-level healthier. Those things that weigh on your mind in a nagging way, yet have no specific deadline and so get pushed to the bottom of the to-do list, behind all the more urgent daily and weekly needs.

First up, business cards. In the past I’ve made do with home printed cards, but in this day of graphic design emphasis, they just aren’t professional enough anymore. I have already begun this process, and hope to have them ordered within the week.

Second, file organization. My desk will never be a neatly arranged, perfectly aligned workspace. It’s just not who I am. However, too much clutter does not help, and it’s been a while since I gave my desk and my files a good going over. This will take a couple of days, I think, and likely will happen a little later in the month when I don’t have so many other things going on.

Third, and perhaps the most difficult, writing. I really want to work on two projects that have been neglected for almost a year now. I am not sure, however, how to achieve this in my daily life. I work 5.5 hours a day – the hours Bushboy is in school. Outside of those hours is family time, housework time, dinner time, volunteer meeting time and dog walking time. Mr. Kate generally works week-ends, which means it’s me and Bushboy together most days. While he is older now, it still means a lot of distraction to be home with him, and writing for me requires little if no distraction. I am looking at putting aside a set chunk of time each week, but I’m not sure that I’ll stick to it, as I always feel behind on tasks as is. I am definitely open to suggestions on this one!

February is a short month, and I have some things already planned that will take my time away from this focus (although in a different sort of healthy way!), so it will be interesting to see where I get to. I keep reminding myself this is all a journey, and something is infinitely better than nothing.

Anyone else up for some work health tasks this month?

Responses

  1. I wish I could remember where I saw it, but an author who’s published several books talks about always having a notebook and pen/pencil on hand and taking even 1-2 minutes to write. He says that’s how his first book got finished–less than 10 minutes at a time.

  2. How about setting aside photo/writing time for you and your son? He can spend quiet time making photographs while you write?

    I am focusing on better organizing my work. I completed a rewarding project last week and look forward to experimenting in similar ways. It’s not terribly inventive, just getting better at looking at a big project and then creating a series of small doable projects to reach my larger goal. The idea is that it increases the odds of each little project getting completed and I get to feel that sense of accomplishment more often. So far so good.

  3. I have a friend who writes while her kids do homework, they do it side by side. That does not work for me, I need a quiet house. It means I have to get up way earlier than I would like, and I am seldom able to get in more than an hour, but it works.

  4. Have you thought about getting up really early several mornings a week? You would have a quite house and could focus totally on your writing.

  5. It sounds like you’re on the right track, keep it going. I’m about the same, the world’s best procrastinator. I recently read Betty Edwards, “Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain” – workbook. She says that most of us struggle with procrastination and we all have a zillion other things we need to be doing. She suggests to “Make Time”, that is, find a block of time just for you to do what your heart most desires, whether it’s writing, painting, knitting. I call it self-care.

    It’s amazing how after I’ve done something completely for myself, I’m in a much better/happier mood & all those “things” seem to get done! You’re on a roll, keep it up & let us know how it goes, it’ll help me, too ;)

  6. All these sound like great work goals. I, of course, have a ton of work goals but they are too many and too boring to write in this space. I do know that Denise’s suggestion really helps me…learning how to break up big tasks that are overwhelming in themselves (write X paper) into more manageable tasks so I can feel like I’m accomplishing things every day. I also know that for me, having an organized space is necessary for my brain to function. Speaking of…it’s a task for tonight (although it will never be fully organized but as least I put things in piles!).

    As for your writing…I don’t know what to suggest. I’m guessing it is too personal and requires too much attention to set up a mother/son time to do it. But maybe that would work. Otherwise my only suggestion mirrors Amy’s…start small and find 5 minutes a day that you can write. Maybe right after your walk in the morning or right before bed at night. 5 minutes is better than nothing and it will get you into the habit of it so that maybe you’ll be more likely to find larger chunks later. Keep us posted!


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories