Posted by: Kate | February 2, 2012

Knitting to the End

As I was working to the end of Haruni I was sweating. I had decided to add another set of repeats, knowing that I had three skeins of my yarn which was more than was called for. The designer mentioned in her notes that you need about half your yarn to knit the edging pattern, and I figured that was about how much I had. By the time I got to the bind off row, I was only 50% certain that I’d make it through. This is how much yarn I had left to do a crochet fancy bind off:

 

I couldn’t stop, I madly worked on it Tuesday evening – if I needed more yarn I needed to know asap! I did the crochet with a 2.5mm and only chained 5 stitches in between, instead of 6. I think if I hadn’t done that, I wouldn’t have made it. But I did, with about 1.5 metres of yarn to spare!

Now it is blocking, and I will be able to wrap it up in time for Saturday (I will try to get photos before then). Phew!

Responses

  1. oh goodness – i’m so happy for you!
    i hate that sinking feeling that you’re going to run out of yarn… and the fevered knitting (or crocheting as the case may be) to see if you’re going to make it.
    and they say knitting is a relaxing hobby :)

  2. Yeah!!! I always knit faster when I think I am going to run out of yarn.

  3. Oh, the anxiety. Knitting (/crochet) is not always meditative, yet I always return. As my grandpa used to say, I only remember the good times. But…you did it! Bravo!

  4. I love those colors! I’m so glad you were able to knit fast enough to finish before running out of yarn! :)

  5. I know there is an FO shot coming up so I’ll refrain from commenting on the unblocked version! Glad you had enough yarn to finish…I’ve taken to playing weighing games and it is helping me figure out if I can knit that extra repeat or that extra row. I don’t know why I didn’t think of that before!


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories