Posted by: Kate | January 1, 2012

Ringing in the New Year with One Little Word

As I have done for many years now, I am starting the year with a focus word. I have found this a useful practise. In 2009 my word was Awareness, and I feel like that word has stayed with me ever since. In 2010 it was Kindness, and it made me focus on a different aspect of the word for me.

I think what I have like about having a word to focus on for an entire year is that it makes me think of the many different meanings the word can have. My word for 2011, Movement, is a prime example. I thought the word was about movement in both my physical life and my professional life. But it was also about movement in my spirit. 2011 saw a lot of movement for our entire family, from Bushboy starting a new school and new sport, to Mr. Kate making a big decision about work, to me not only going out to work in an office again but also expanding my editing work and finally moving on my knitting. Yes Movement was an excellent word.

So we come to 2012. I debated this one for a long while, and the word only finally came to me in the final hours of December 31st. I almost went with Adventure, and I do plan on having great adventures in 2012, but the word I chose encompasses adventure and also so much more. My word is

I  am looking at a boy who will be 12 shortly. A husband who will turn 40 this year. A mother who is turning 70 in a month. A life that has certainly seen changes in the past few months. Adventures waiting for me. And I want to remember Acceptance. Not in a passive way of accepting that which we cannot change (although this is also important) but in a positive way. A way of choosing my battles, of growing and aging gracefully and with joy, of allowing freedom where necessary, of seizing opportunity when it passes, of getting out and of saying yes when I should. I want to learn the skill, in all the nuanced ways, of Acceptance.

I hope you will come along on this journey with me, and if you are looking at a word for 2012, please feel welcome to share it in the comments.

Happy New Year, my friends and readers, may 2012 bring you all a little adventure and joy and peace.

Responses

  1. Nicely said, Kate. Happy New Year to you and your family!

  2. I’ll be so interested to follow this journey. I don’t know if I could be so open and out there. I say that but have a blog. It’s a big word, so i think it will be an amazing adventure.

  3. Applause!! Applause!!

    Acceptance is an important part of growing up.
    XO

  4. beautiful kate.

    i decided that my word for this year would be “calm.” which will continue my quest from last year to “let it be.”
    here’s to a new year with new possibilities and chances for growth and learning and love.

  5. I think your word is perfect. And your reasons for choosing it beautifully said. Looking forward to seeing where this takes you in 2012.

  6. Well said, Kate! You have a beautiful gift and we’re all so fortunate to share in it. Your 2012 word ~ Acceptance ~ is a good one, on so v many levels. I wish you & yours all the v best in 2012.

    I can’t believe that melissa & I share the same ‘word of the year’! On Jan. 1st, 2012, I wrote down the word CALM on my whiteboard on the fridge, so I can see it daily. I also want to order Ravelry’s “Keep Calm and Carry Yarn” poster but they’re sold out. I feel that we all need more calm in our lives. (darned if I can remember last year’s word).

    Cheers!


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories