Posted by: Kate | August 31, 2011

August Evenings

I love this time of summer. The days are clear and hot, the evenings cool. Summer is waning, the stars are out now by 9 pm. It’s dark at 8:30, when we were going for our evenings walks at 8:30 a month ago. We are a people in tune with the rhythms of the sun – I can’t imagine living somewhere without the changing in light through-out the year. Although I may fantasize about it in late December when the pale winter light is gone at 4 pm.

We’ve been taking full advantage of a lovely August (after a pretty dismal July) and have enjoyed many evenings down at the beach. We even got my mum to bring up the kayaks the other night and join us for a picnic dinner/beach fire. (These pictures are all better if you click on them to see them bigger.)

Bushboy and Granny heading out.

That evening, although warm, wasn’t as crystal clear as some of the others have been.

An early evening walk on the beach before dinner.

Another night with a beach fire.

I hope you are all enjoying what your area has to offer as we jump into September. I’m looking forward to a glorious end to summer!

Responses

  1. Ooo, I love the end of seasons, most esp. the end of summer, with the shorter days and crisp, cool air! And the scents? oh wow! I really appreciate your photos, I can imagine myself walking the beach – thank you Kate!

    On a side note, do you happen to know the winner of $35,738,798.00? On the cover of “Luck” magazine, there’s a photo of David Rennie who won the Lotto Max on May 21st. He’s a “48-yr.-old steel worker and avid sports fan is now busy planning his retirement while enjoying major sporting events like the Stanley Cup Finals with wife Sandra Morgan (hmmmm) and son, Kyle”. They live in “a small BC fishing community at the South End of Discovery Passage”. Boy oh boy, does he look happy! If you bump into him, maybe start up a conversation & ask for more LYS’s! :)

    • Just to clarify for anyone else reading Kim’s comment, I’m not related to the winners in any way and don’t know them :)

  2. What a beautiful area you live in! It looks so quiet and peaceful. I love your socks too. Such a pretty colour! I kind of love the shift into Autumn, but end of summer also means ‘back to school’. It means the end of long, lazy summer days at home and seeing family and friends. I love the changing seasons though and each one is special in its own way. Ros

  3. Beautiful. I’m so jealous of your backyard.

  4. i have to agree with kathy – your backyard is beautiful and i’m a wee bit jealous.

    i’m glad that the weather has shifted so that y’all can get out and enjoy!!


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories