Posted by: Kate | August 29, 2011

Socks of Summer

The socks started on our July camping trip are finished, and I have cast on for the August socks. I’d like to get them finished a little sooner in September so I can cast on the next pair before the end of the month.

July’s socks were the red ones, of my own design. I’m pleased with how they turned out.

They are a smidge long on me, but I think they’ll shrink up a little in the wash. I used 2 mm needles on these ones, and the fabric is definitely more firm than my usual, although not too stiff.

The next pair is from my Ravelry queue. The pattern is called Fascine Braid Socks. I’m using the Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock yarn from my Storm Cloud Shawlette, as I still have one and almost a half skeins of it, and I’m knitting them on 2.5 mm needles. I think the pattern is best suited to a solid colour. These will be for my mum’s Christmas socks.

I’m enjoying my year of socks, as I don’t find it takes my focus away from other projects as much as the shawls did last year.

Responses

  1. Maybe we’ll do an unofficial KAL as I’ve had that pattern printed out for awhile now and have wanted to make those socks… there are other items that are more pressing, but hmmm….

  2. love those red socks!
    yay for your for sticking with your plan for a year of socks – i always get distracted from such things :)


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories