Posted by: Kate | August 18, 2011

Storm Cloud Shawlette

As I mentioned earlier this month, I was going to make a little shawlette to go with the dress I had made to attend our cousin’s wedding. I did get it made in a couple of days, and wore it to the wedding. As it turns out I don’t yet have photos of me in it (at least none that show the shawl well with the dress) so I decided for now to show you the shawl at least.

I used Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in the colourway Chino, and added little aquamarine beads in the last section. I randomly placed a few every drop-stitch row. I didn’t add a ruffle to this one, as I felt that it would suit the dress.

I love that the shawl sits on your shoulders without needing a closure, so you can wear it without grabbing on to it all the time.

I have made this shawl before, although I don’t think I ever shared it. I made it for my friend in Korea, when she came to visit last summer.

In the photo above you can see what it looks like with a ruffle.

I’ll definitely be making more of these lovely little shawls, they’re like the potato chip of shawl knitting. One (or two) just isn’t enough!

Pattern: Storm Cloud Shawlette

 

Responses

  1. I like! I love your work, Kate, it all looks so ‘comforting’ :) I love this shawl knit either way, w/o ruffle and with. It looks perfect for those chilly evenings of late summer.

  2. The shawl is beautiful. I admire knitters who can knit lace. I am not one of them!

  3. Purty! I like the first one best (chino).

  4. Hello thereKate! We’re just back from holiday, so thought I’d pop in. The little shawl is so pretty. It’s just perfect over a summer dress. Love it! Ros

  5. It’s so lovely and delicate. I like the way it stays in place without a closure–nifty.


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories