Posted by: Kate | August 1, 2011

Green Dress of Summer

As I’ve mentioned, I have a wedding to attend on Saturday. It’s happening at a vacation resort on a local beach, with beach-time included in the afternoon (so most people will have swimsuits on underneath their clothes). I wasn’t sure what I wanted to wear, so I decided to try my hand at making a dress. Instead of using a pattern, I used a tutorial I found online. I’m quite happy with it overall.

Of course, it needs a little wrap to go with it, as the party continues at the beach in the evening with a buffet dinner and dancing. (Bushboy has promised to dance with me, as Mr. Kate does not dance.) I’m thinking a Storm Cloud Shawlette, in a nice tan colour, with some beads sprinkled through-out. The blanket is being finished tonight (on the last border rows) and so I don’t think it will be a problem to get the shawl done.

I’m quite pleased with my homemade outfit.

Responses

  1. Your dress is lovely! And a small shawl would be just the thing for the cool evening. Sewing my own dress would not have been an option for me, as sewing actually stresses me out even more than shopping. :-)

  2. Wow! The dress looks lovely;such a pretty fabric! I think the little shawlette will look great too. Hope you manage to get it done in time. Look forward to seeing a picture of the dress and the shawl. Hope you have a great time! Ros

  3. beautiful kate!
    what a fantastic sewing job you did! it looks great on you too! perfection!!
    i second ros that i’m looking forward to seeing it paired with the shawl.

    the wedding sounds like a lot of fun!

  4. As you should be…quite impressive that you just whipped this out with a tutorial. It looks great on you….hoping that as I continue to catch up with your posts that a picture of you with a knitted shawl and that dress appears!

  5. […] I mentioned earlier this month, I was going to make a little shawlette to go with the dress I had made to attend our cousin’s wedding. I did get it made in a couple of days, and wore it […]


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories