Posted by: Kate | March 30, 2011

Knitting and Crochet Blog Week, Day Three

Day Three: 30th March. Tidy mind, tidy stitches.

How do you keep your yarn wrangling organised? It seems like an easy to answer question at first, but in fact organisation exists on many levels. Maybe you are truly not organised at all, in which case I am personally daring you to try and photograph your stash in whatever locations you can find the individual skeins. However, if you are organised, blog about an aspect of that organisation process, whether that be a particularly neat and tidy knitting bag, a decorative display of your crochet hooks, your organised stash or your project and stash pages on Ravelry.

Tips: Many people use their blogs partly as an organisational tool – logging and cataloguing projects and newly attained skills, projects and modifications. Did you bare this in mind when you began blogging?

OK, excuse me for a minute while I go laugh myself silly. Tidy mind? Tidy yarn? Ha ha ha!!

Yeah, I’m not known for being particularly neat or organized. I keep things to a dull roar, is how we look at it around here. If it starts encroaching on the walking or sitting space, it’s time for a round-up. So day-to-day, this is what my yarn ‘organization’ looks like:

This basket sits beside the couch. It is yarn that is either a project in progress or yarn that I'm thinking about using in the next while.

Sometimes yarn escapes the basket, especially when I've been recently swatching or contemplating.

Circular needles. At least they're all in one place!

The Closet. Most of this is left-overs, and my cotton. This is the only part of the closet that is yarn, the rest is other craft items.

The Box Under the Bed. Acrylics, mostly used for charity work and kids' birthday gifts.

There you have it. Most of the yarn is left overs and bits and pieces, as I don’t buy large quantities of anything. That’s why I’m working on scrap projects this year!

Responses

  1. Wow, you have quite the stash. It’s kind of exciting, all of the possibilities. I just have a few projects stashed in cotton project bags.

  2. Ya, keeping ourselves organized. Joy. ;) Looking at your pics, you appear to have a tidy mind to me! Actually, yours looks pretty much like mine. Last week, in fact, I moved a large clear, vinyl bag (formerly a queen-size comforter) filled with new skeins of cotton (mostly Bernat) into my bedroom. In the living room, beside my fav. spot on the sofa, is a small paper shopping bag 1/2 full of cotton leftovers and in a large Lion Brand cloth bag, I have my acrylics and assorted fibers. Oh yes, I also have a smaller clear vinyl bag of some acrylics and assorted fibers. Oh, one more box (banker’s box) under my side table in liv. room, is my 100% Buffalo wool, 1 slipper and 1/2 slipper UFO, pencil case full of addi circs, and my needle case of ‘straights’ and an old Pot o’ Gold chocolates box with a stitch sizer ruler and a few crochet hooks & assorted sundries. Did I mention my small, zippered vinyl tool-kit with darning needles, elastics, index cards, scissors, small crochet hook (handy for picking up stitches), cable needle, stitch markers, assorted buttons &etc.

    Whew, when I look at my stash ‘in print’, man, it looks like an awful lot. A girl’s gotta have what a girl needs, right? :)

  3. Brave you to post those pictures of your stash! I wouldn’t dare. I call my various areas of fibre accumulation my “pastures.”

  4. Your very brave showing off your stash. I keep mine well hidden ;-) Ros

  5. I’m not sure what I’m laughing at the most…something called a ‘tidy stash’ or Denise thinking that yours is ‘quite the stash’. I think she’d be appalled at those people whose stashes can’t fit comfortably into a small room! ;)

    I think your organizational system is probably pretty common…the bulk kept in one place but little mini-stashes and works in progress all over the house. Sounds like mine!


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories