Posted by: Kate | January 3, 2011

Just One Word

As many of you know, I like to pick one word to focus on throughout the year. Two years ago my word was Awareness, and last year my chosen word was Kindness. I enjoyed both of these words, and felt that they brought some extra meaning into my experiences.

This year my word came to me quite quickly. In thinking of the different areas of my life that I would like to work on or enhance, I realized that they all could use the same focus.

There it is, the word for 2011. I’d like to bring movement into my daily life through physical activity, more writing, more creative organization that works for me and my family, and however else this word appears in my plans.

Have you chosen a word for this year? Are you a resolution person? A list person? I do have some lists to share later this week, mostly in goals for crafting and writing this year.

Tomorrow I will tell you about our annual New Year’s Day family outing – I will say that the new header picture was taken that day!

Responses

  1. I like it! Movement evokes many, many different response(s). I love your new header, it’s soooo B.C. :) love it.

    Oh, in reply to your questions on New Year’s resolutions, etc., no, I don’t make resolutions, esp. for New Year’s. I generally try my best to make the coming year the best year I can. I’m really warming up to your New Year’s One Word idea. I’m still thinking on what that word will be. Patience? Tolerance? Rest? Play? etc. etc.

  2. i’ve been thinking about you the past couple of days and wondering what your word for 2011 would be.
    i’ve also been giving a lot of thought to how i can work more movement (of the physical variety) into my life when the wind chills are -20F outside, and honestly in general.
    the latter half of 2010 saw my physical health take a blessed turn for the better, now my goal is to have the beginning of 2011 see my physical activity follow suit, i’ve been stuck being sedentary for far too long.

    my word for this year is actually three words (i hope that’s okay, i’m assuming the rules are flexible here) – let it be.
    my hope is that by letting it be i will find much more peace, contentment, and joy in my life.

  3. Good word. I like it. I don’t think I’ve ever chosen a word for the year, but this year I decided to choose ‘gentle’.

  4. I like your new word…I especially like how it can be brought into all areas of one’s life…more than just the obvious.

    I’ve made some goals for this year spanning across work, personal, and crafty and so far seem to be sticking with them (I know, I know, but I count 2 weeks as progress since some years I didn’t even get that far). But I haven’t thought much about a word. Maybe I should stick with positive again since I really didn’t do a good job with that last year! But I’ll think some more.

  5. […] at least until I can find another paying gig writing about knitting! (Keeping me moving, my word Movement staying in the forefront of my mind these […]

  6. […] year is that it makes me think of the many different meanings the word can have. My word for 2011, Movement, is a prime example. I thought the word was about movement in both my physical life and my […]


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories