Posted by: Kate | November 30, 2010

A Hat for Me

I’ve talked before about my issues with sensitive skin. It is frustrating but something I’ve learned to live with. It does make it difficult to find a good yarn for hats, though. Sock yarn is too itchy, 100% wool is out, and even many wool/acrylic blends won’t work. Cotton is nice but not very snug, and not all acrylics feel comfortable. Recently I found one yarn that seems to be working for me, though. Bernat Mosaic is an acrylic yarn that has long colour repeats. To me it feels a little like velour when knit up. It is a light worsted weight. Some people have complained about it breaking, but I had no problems. It is a little squeaky, like most acrylics, but I like the look and most importantly it doesn’t itch my forehead!!

This was last week, when we had snow and sun. Not so much this week.

The pattern is my own. I cast on 96 stitches on a 4.5mm needle and worked in 2×2 rib for about 6 inches (I was determined it would cover my ears!) and then worked decreases. There are more details on my Ravelry project page if you are interested. It used no more than half a skein of the yarn.

The back view.

This was out in my backyard, so not as many neighbours can see me. But the dog was amused!

Snow! I love Snow!

Responses

  1. Your hat turned out great – love the colours. I have a problem with itch too. I wish it weren’t so as there are so many beautiful wools, alpacas, etc. At least with a sweater you can wear something underneath.

  2. i’m glad you were able to find yarn that will keep you warm while not irritating your skin. and how lucky that it’s such gorgeous yarn! love the stripes!!

  3. It is gorgeous, Kate! Fab job at designing, photographing and it keeps your ears warm, too. This is important for a hat! Love the pic of your sweet dog, too :)

    I’ll have to look for this yarn, have not heard of it before. I really like the colourway you’ve used.

  4. nice hat! I’m been wearing my shaker hat, but the long yellow/green/red repeats (think rasta) clash pretty horribly with business attire. I was just thinking this morning that I need to do up a new hat for the cold weather we’ve been having lately.

  5. yeah!

  6. Great hat. Love the colours of the yarn. I haven’t seen this yarn before. I think I’m going to have to keep an eye open for it.

  7. I’m so glad you were able to find a yarn that would work in a hat for you. I don’t know what I would do without the ability to wear a hat. Essentially once it falls below about 45, I have a hat permanently stuck on my head!! J of course loves this! heavy heavy sarcasm in that sentence!

    The hat itself looks great…and love C’s expression as ‘mom’ takes pictures of herself!


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories