Posted by: Kate | November 16, 2010

Scarves Hanging in Trees

What my neighbours must think of me as I hang scarves in my tree at the front door. People walk by with their dogs and look twice . Is it me or do they speed up a little as they walk past? And I think I saw the blinds twitch next door….

First up is a drop stitch scarf. These are my go-to scarves when I have some pretty yarn left over and want to use it all up. I randomly throw in rows of garter stitch and rows of one or two-wrap drop stitches, until I’ve used up all the yarn. This yarn is Wisdom Poems sock yarn, left over from the Whipped scarf I made my friend in the summer.

Drop Stitch Scarf

Second up is the pink mohair and silk scarf for my sister-in-law. This is as light as air and totally frothy, which in some ways negates the feather and fan patterning in it but ah well. The pattern is one I found on Ravelry (of course) and is called Scarf for Beth. It used up one skein (less about a metre and a half) of Alessandra Filati Super Kid mohair/silk blend. She is a pink-loving woman, and I think this will look lovely over a jean jacket or cropped jacket, loosely draped around the neck. I’m not tempted to keep it, as it is way too itchy for me (my skin is so sensitive I can’t wear a necklace for more than a couple of hours before I’m scratching my skin and needing to take it off).

 

Scarf for Beth, or as I prefer, Pink Froth.

I’m definitely on a scarf kick right now, so I’m sure there’ll be more to hang in the tree, and confuse my neighbours with, soon enough!

 

Responses

  1. Very pretty! Fun to spook the neighbours too.

  2. Love it! Art should be seen by everyone and I’d say your scarves are both definitely artwork, in my book! I LOVE the pink frothy scarf, too bad it itches you, tho’ :( Your friend is going to love it! The Wisdom Poem sock scarf is v pretty, too! I love the name of this yarn.
    Happy scarf knitting!

  3. Lovely scarves and there is nothing wrong with making the neighbours curious.

  4. Both of these are very nice!

  5. They are both beautiful! Thanks for posting them…I don’t seem to have the time or the memory (!) to keep up with friends projects on Ravelry…so I miss many of your great knitting projects unless you post them here (for example, I have to go search out your Baktus now!).

    I think it’s a good thing you get side glances…no need to be ordinary! ;)

  6. SO pretty!

  7. gorgeous gorgeous scarves!!!

    and i’d bet your neighbors are just sitting there wondering how they can sweet talk you into knitting scarves for *them*!!

  8. Now you’ve got your neighbors intrigued. I bet those blinds are twitching right now.


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories