Posted by: Kate | March 25, 2010

Finding Our Way

I recently read Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by one of my favourite authors, Barbara Kingsolver. The book follows her family through a year of deliberate local eating, with most of the food being provided from a very large family garden/farm. I always enjoy Barbara’s writing – her turn of phrase delights me and the fact that she studied evolutionary biology is an added plus. This book in turns inspired me and frustrated me, though. I am inspired to grow more, and more importantly, to prepare more (canning, freezing, etc). The frustration comes from feeling inadequate. I struggle with wanting to eat locally yet not wanting to feel guilty for the food we do consume from elsewhere. I want to live in this day, yet be responsible. On one hand our family would love to live off the land, yet on the other hand we are quite happy to order pizza.

I recommend the book for any gardener, or anyone interested in food issues, as the book is a good read. Meanwhile, I’ll try to go reconcile my inner food dilemmas….

Responses

  1. I love Barbara Kingsolver too but haven’t read that book yet. I have The Lacuna waiting for me on my iPod. I love her essays, High Tide in Tucson is a fave. She is one smart woman. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. i’ve had this book on my bookshelf for years – i need to get-a readin’!
    i know what you mean about struggling and feeling inadequate – it’s hard to find a balance, and i keep having to remind myself that i can’t change everything at once. each little step i make in the right direction is just that – a step in the right direction.

  3. I think that Melissa is right…I think that most folks don’t have the resources etc to do something quite as major like BK and her family did (remember that she moved to an area that could pretty much grow veggies all year round…we aren’t so lucky). So we need do what we can, what works with our resources and time, and continue to make small changes as we can. And not feel guilty that sometimes one needs to just relax and buy a pizza.


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories