Posted by: Kate | February 25, 2010

Odd Things

Just because I feel like sharing, here are five odd things about me that you likely wouldn’t know.

1. I don’t like going to movies. The seats are uncomfortable, the sound is too loud, and I get eyestrain from the bright screen and dark room. I haven’t been to a theatre more than once in the last 10 years.

2. I have an ear that was sewn back and a belly button that was stitched in. The ear stuck out too much according to my parents and my belly button was herniated when I was a baby and so stuck out a lot as well. Both of these purely cosmetic surgeries were done before I was 7 years old.

3. I can touch my nose with the tip of my tongue. (Grosses people out every time, and no, I won’t post a picture of it.)

4. I wrecked my knees running long distance when I was only 13 years old.

5. I am extremely clumsy, to the point of getting bruises I don’t remember getting. I apologize to doors when I whack into them, have broken my baby toe a number of times tripping over little things, and constantly hurt my hand banging it. I think I have bad depth perception :) Mr. Kate says I’m the only person he knows who can trip over flat carpet. Whatever.

OK, your turn!

Responses

  1. what fun!
    i don’t know that i can come up with five off the top of my head, but i’ll give it a try…
    1. i was in my school’s mime troupe in highschool. (yes, the *mime* troupe, mock away…)
    2. everyone has always made fun of me because i pronounce the word “bag” like it rhymes with “egg.”
    3. i love to shovel snow. love it!
    4. my ankle doctor told me i have the ankle of a 50+ year-old after my surgery last february. (yikes!)
    5. i hate bananas. except during my first trimester pregnant with lily – then i had an unstoppable *need* to eat 2-3 a day. but after the first trimester i went right back to hating them.
    (but i loooooove banana bread.)

  2. 1. I love the wind.
    2. Love the smell of coffee, can’t drink it.
    3. Commercial Music major in college.
    4. Spent some time as a Blackjack Dealer.
    5. Could never live away from the ocean.

  3. 1. I didn’t eat bananas for years because an older kid told me the black things in the centre were bugs.
    2. I had a violin teacher named Tommy Tucker.
    3. I got my first (and so far only) tattoo when I was 52.
    4. My dad pierced my ears when I was 11. He was a jeweller and had just got in a piercer that looked like a syringe with a gold sleeper threaded on it. I was his first victim.
    5. I hated living in residence during nurses’ training.

  4. Hmm, interesting post, watch those toes, Kate! I cannot touch my nose w my tongue, but have a few little quirks of me own.
    1. I love Van the Man aka Van Morrison. Finally got to see him play live in 2007, a dream come true.
    2. I’m a voracious reader, even lost a friend in Grade 4 or 5 when we had a sleepover. I was so engrossed in my book (don’t recall which one) and ignored my friend (in my defense, I thought she was still sleeping). She didn’t speak to me again.
    3. My mother pierced my ears when I was 13, in our tiny bathroom, using a sterile darning needle and froze my ears with ice cubes. It didn’t hurt but wow, there sure was alot of blood!
    4. I can type 110 wpm.
    5. I’m a horse fanatic. Thought I’d outgrow my fascination from a girl, but it still hasn’t happened.

  5. Just about everything about me is odd. Narrowing it down to five will be a challenge, but here goes:

    1. I can remember just about anything set to music. Would you like me to sing the Preamble of the U.S. Constitution? No problem.
    2. I’m a picker. No not my nose, my cuticles. When I get a little rough patch of dry skin or a hang nail they drive me crazy so I end up making them 100 times worse by picking at them.
    3. I love to imitate accents. I have to be careful in public because sometimes I don’t realize I’m doing it.
    4. I don’t usually eat pears. I don’t like the way the skin makes the inside of my mouth feel.
    5. I can wiggle my ears. My grandfather taught me when I was a kid.

  6. Hmmm…what odd (or at least random) things to share this morning that you don’t already know.
    1. I get migraines often…except mine come via visual issues rather than pain. I get white flashes or even complete vision loss for short periods of time. I just learned these problems were migraines a few months ago.
    2. I pride myself on reading and watching ‘intellectual’ things for the most part, but I also can very easily be sucked into really ‘bad’ drama in books, movies, or TV series.
    3. One response I have to stress is to unknowingly clench my teeth. I don’t grind often, just clench. I now have a bite plate I can’t live without…I argued with the dentist about it until she showed me that my teeth DO look 20 years older than my age.
    4. I can be a minimalist to the extreme at times…especially related to personal appearance. I don’t even own a brush or comb.
    5. I consider cooking to be part of my ‘creative outlet’. And so when I’m feeling uninspired to knit, to create, or to photograph, I also feel uninspired to cook. This is my biggest struggle with eating ‘right’.

    As for you: YES to #1 (but I also hate paying that much money for 2 hours of my life!), you know I tried #3 after reading that…can’t do it, and is #4 related to #5 perhaps? :)


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories