Posted by: Kate | February 15, 2010

Wii Has Arrived

Back in the fall, we had a conversation with Bush Boy about the rules in our house. He felt very strongly that I was being unfair about the no video game systems rule, and Mr. Kate agreed with him a little bit. However, they do respect my feelings on it, and so we compromised that we would only have one system. Both Mr. Kate and I felt the Wii was the most family friendly of the systems, so we would allow this system. The other caveat? Bush Boy had to buy it with his own money, to understand how expensive the systems were as well as the games.

This Friday Bush Boy finally had saved the $240 required to buy a Wii system. He worked hard for a lot of the money (some of it was Christmas money but most was earned) and you can only imagine his disappointment to discover there were no Wiis to be had within 100 miles of here.Luckily  for him Mr. Kate made a lot of phone calls, and finally found one in Qualicum. So Friday night we drove down the highway to Qualicum and bought the Wii.

The boy was happy, especially as I allowed a lot more playing this week-end then I will normally.

setting up a Mii.

Responses

  1. Aw, that’s fantastic! Good on you, Bushboy! You’re a great Mom, Kate, it’s not always easy to stick to your guns. Hope you’ll all spend many happy hours Wii-ing!

  2. Super fun, I LOVE my Wii.

  3. Hmmm…I’m with you Kate…catching frogs is better than video game systems. ;) Although I’ve never actually seen a Wii to know what I’m missing (though I have friends addicted to the things!)!

  4. I have heard so much about the Wii, all good of course… Well other than the Wii injuries ;-) You know the ones, soreness but you can’t quite put your finger on how you may have injured yourself….. those are the Wii injuries. Good times!

  5. we got a wii for christmas (and really are enjoying it, i must say) but i love (and respect) so much more how you had bushboy earn the money needed for the purchase. you should be proud of the ethics you are instilling in your son.

    enjoy your wii!! (i like the skateboarding and the shooting at cans best – what about you? oh! and do you have “jogging with cats?!? that’s lily’s favorite. it’s on wii fit.)

  6. For the past two holiday seasons Husband and I have had the WII conversation. We still do not have one, but I would not be surprised to find one turn up eventually. Maybe once we upgrade our small, 30 year old TV?


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories