Posted by: Kate | September 28, 2009

Magic Mud

Do you know the joy that is Magic Mud? A sacrifice of a box of corn starch, some water and a few drops of food colouring have equalled a week-end of fun. We make it maybe once every six months, and  it is always a hit.

magicmud1 magicmud2 magicmud3 of course, at some point you know there are other things going into that mud…

magicmud4 Lego droid is sinking ….

Push on it and it resists, stay still and it allows you to sink. Liquid to solid, solid to liquid, it is hours of mind expanding fun — all at a kitchen table.

Responses

  1. How cool! My grandson will love it. Me too, truth be known. I once did an accidental science experiment in my microwave. I needed buttermilk for a recipe and didn’t have the real thing so I did the vinegar in milk thing. The milk was really cold so I thought I’d speed up the process by warming it with the vinegar in the microwave. I guess I nuked it too long and the result was this very strange slime mixture that I could stretch into long strings. I haven’t tried it again but it was sure fun at the time!

  2. oh my goodness! we are *so* doing this – and soon!!
    thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Hooray for thixotropic mixtures! Yeah, I know I’m a geek!

  4. Thanks for the tip, Kate – I’ve never heard of it before but Solids Liquids and Gases was last year and we barely did any hands-on stuff…we’ll do this one for sure.


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories