Posted by: Kate | August 25, 2009

Pockets of Trash

I’ve talked before about my love of beach glass. I love collecting it, the act of looking at the rocks below my feet watching for a glint of colour. The thought of someone tossing a bottle into the ocean and it becoming a piece of treasure appeals to the recycler in me.

I often go home with pockets of glass pieces – like this collection I brought home the other day from walking the dog at the beach.

august glass

The glass usually goes into a jar on my shelf, and then eventually we make something with it. We’ve decorated picture frames and mirrors, and put them in a beautiful candle holder. But our favourite thing is to make garden stones.

glass stone 1 glass stone 2 glass stone 3

One person’s trash truly become another person’s treasure.

Responses

  1. What a great idea! I pick up beach glass too – I like to imagine it’s journey from a tossed bottle to a smooth edged shard on the shore. I’ve got a lot of really pretty pieces I’d like to display and this looks so neat. Do you just use a regular concrete mix?

    • Hi Julie,

      I’m answering you here, so other people can see as well.

      Yup, just a bag of cement mix from the hardware store, the smallest I could get. I used plant pot bottom trays as my molds.

  2. how fun!
    i think this is what lily and i should do with the beach glass you sent me!

  3. Thanks!

  4. Nice! I’ve been wanting to make some garden stones lately…don’t have beach glass, but I’m sure that I can find an adequate substitution! Thanks for sharing in the comments what you use for the mold and materials!

  5. I love your beach glass…..I found gorgeous beach glass earrings in St. John, New Brunswick…beach glass from the Bay of Fundy…I’m kicking myself for not buying them……love your garden stones.

  6. I love beach glass too. I have a glass full I brought home from Puerto Rico with me.


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories