Posted by: Kate | July 2, 2009

Playing With Colour

Have you ever dyed your yarn – on purpose? There are many techniques and schools of thought when it comes to dying yarn, and many people take it very seriously. But if you are just looking to have a little fun, and don’t want to mess around with chemicals that require major safety equipment, then I have just the thing for you.

Koolaid.

Yup, that drink mix that you can pick up for pennies a packet is awesome at dying animal fibre (means it works on hair, too).  Here was a fun dying experiment a couple of days ago:

1. Presoaking the yarn (Scheepjes sock yarn in an oatmeal colour). The yarn is skeined and tied in three places.

DSC01924

2. I mixed the koolaid with just enough water to get a good, dark mix (I used strawberry-kiwi, strawberry and cherry).

DSC01925

3. I poured the dye over the yarn, which was coiled on a plastic bag on top of newspaper.

4. Once the yarn was saturated I put it in a glass dish with a lid and microwaved it in 2 minute increments, letting it rest between bouts (I did this batch three times).

DSC01926

5. I let the yarn cool for about an hour and then rinsed it out in luke-warm water (the water had no dye coming off, although the strawberry-kiwi left a milky residue which rinsed out).

6. I hung the yarn outside to dry.

DSC01928

7. I pulled out my lovely ball winder and voila!

DSC01934

The only thing you have to be careful of is cleaning up any spills as the colouring may dye your counters, etc. I wore gloves as I didn’t really want red fingers, but it won’t hurt you at all.

It’s really addictive, and a lot of fun. I already have more colours planned!

Responses

  1. Love, Love, Love! Kate this is great this is also something that I have tried just the once and was happy with the results but will try again using your technique ;-) Now all I need to do is pick up some yarn to dye as I still have some koolaid kicking around from the first try at it.

    This will be a good summery activity to do with the boy.

  2. Wow. It looks fantastic. I wonder if it would work for tie-dye on a 100% cotton shirt. The kids and I may have to try that later in the summer.


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories