Posted by: Kate | February 23, 2009

Dreaming of the Veggie Beds

That’s what I’ve been doing – dreaming of the vegetable garden. I’m really motivated this year to get more oganized in my veg beds, and really grow what works and what we will eat. That means lots of potatoes, peas and beans of all kinds! I’m going to try onions this year, and do leeks which I haven’t done in years. More lettuce, less carrots (they just don’t grow well for me). More spinach this year. Will be starting more seeds inside, using the grow lights my neighbours passed on to me a couple of years ago.

In this vein, I found a fabulous book at the library the other day. It was on my recommended reading list (probably a title picked up from blog reading), and am I ever glad it was.

garden-book-1  The Vegetable Gardener’s Bible, by Ed Smith, is a treasure of information. Gorgeous photos, well written, and full of very useful information.

garden-book-2      garden-book-3

I would recommend this book for anyone who loves to vegetable garden. Small space, big space, experienced or novice gardener — there is something for everyone in this book.

Responses

  1. Oh if you like to veg garden I have a book for you to have a look at…..my dad gave me his extra copy, it’s Carrots Love Tomatoes. Its all about companion planing very interesting and he swears by it!

    Let me know if your interested an I’ll bring it to knitting for you to borrow ;)

  2. Funny you should post this in today – we were talking about our garden and what we have to do – we have to start pulling out the toms and the dead leaves off the cukes and start preparing a bed for the winter crop of broad beans… yes its all go in the garden!!

  3. Ah, the garden. This time of year I get ants in my pants if I don’t have all my seed orders in. Even though last frost is months away.
    My favorite book–gorgeous illustration! — The Self Sufficient Gardener by John Seymour
    Super informative. Nicely organized.
    Harass your favorite librarian for it.

  4. Thank you for the book title. I am planning to grow edibles for the first time this year. All help is welcome.

  5. Your welcome.
    Oooo, Rona,I hear Carrots loves Tomatoes is THE companion planting book.

  6. Great book suggestions, Nancy and Rona!
    Rona I have read Carrots love Tomatoes and it is a great book. Nancy, I have put that one on my library list!


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories