Posted by: Kate | January 22, 2009

Yarn Graffiti

Imagine that instead of shoes hanging over telephone wires, you saw scarves. Imagine that the local phone pole wore a sweater instead of garage sale signs. Imagine that the bench had a pillow attached, instead of a plastic bag dangling off it. Seem like a strange picture? Perhaps, but there are people out there who are putting knit items out into the urban landscape in all sorts of ways.

A fellow River Stitch knitter mentioned on the Ravelry forum this morning that she heard two women talking on CBC this morning. They run a website called Yarnbombing and have a book coming out about guerrilla knitting, or graffiti knitting. (This movement isn’t just limited to knitting, but really any fabric medium – sewing, crochet, quilting, etc.) So I went over to check out their website. Wow! People are out there doing amazing things, putting knitted objects in the most unlikely of places. And on that site I read about the Global Guerrilla Knit Up Challenge

I don’t know how I feel about this. I like the novelty of it, the craziness of it. But is it enhancing? What would my intent or message be if I were to do this?

It certainly made me think today.

If you could do some guerrilla knitting, what would you do?

Responses

  1. I appreciate the idea, but I find it laughably unrealistic. I’m NOT going to take perfectly good yarn, add hours and hours of my time, then throw the finished object onto a bus bench where it will be either stolen or rained on within 12 hours. My opinion is, it’s a recipe for frustration.

    That being said, I have long wanted to knit a tree sweater (like redshirtknitting did) for my poor struggling Northern Spy. If it’s in MY front yard, it’s less likely to be vandalised/stolen/kicked around til it’s a sodden, miserable mess.


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories