Posted by: Kate | January 19, 2009

December Daily Wrap Up

I thought I would share my thoughts on the December Daily project that I completed last month. I did an entry for every day, finishing with New Year’s Eve. Some people think this project was a bit much, a whole month of documenting and taking pictures, but truthfully, I loved it.

december-dail-20

Now, this isn’t a project I will do every year. It is a lot of mental work, and coming up with entries for some days was difficult. But what I did was blend both the story of this specific year with traditions we have every year. So some pages were about our books, or our figurines, and other pages were about the snow or about the gifts we got this year, or about the dog destroying the gingerbread house.

december-daily-21

Preparing the book ahead of time definitely is what makes this a doable project. I only changed a few pages around, mostly to accommodate either more pictures or some addition. I used few embellishments other than those I had already planned for.

december-daily-26

The project made me focus more on taking photos, which I liked. I do think the more you practice taking photos, the better your eye gets at seeing composition, lighting and great subject matter. Doing the project also made me document things that I might never have thought of before.

december-daily-29

What I think is the best thing about this project is that we will have it to look back on. In ten years, when life in our house has changed around the teen-age years and our son is almost ready to leave home …. this book will be a treasure of what one December in our lives was like. It is honest, and heartfelt, and I hope looking at it will one day become part of the December traditions.

Responses

  1. I really love this idea, as you said, it will be an awesome memento for you as your son gets older, maybe even something you will share with the grandkids one day. I’d love to see it, maybe you can bring it to knitting one night….although not sure if I’ll be able to make it the next couple weeks or not.

  2. I think prepping the pages ahead was genus!

  3. I’d love to see it, too…if you can manage to bring it one day.

    I think it’s a fantastic idea, and I’ll be asking you about it in more detail, so I can maybe do a couple for my daughters.

  4. This is such a great project… and doing the pages ahead of time would definitely make it more doable.

    Would love to see as well!

  5. hi, i stumble upon your blog. I jus love your scrapbook. Ive been meaning to get one done but never got around to starrt doing it. looking at your scrapbook re-ignite that intention – ive started looking at some useful and important pieces. and Ive linked your blog to mine, i hope you dot mind. love reading your entries…

    cheers!

  6. hi again kate, how do you organize your scrapbook? going by dates? topics?


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories