Posted by: Kate | February 21, 2008

Now That Feels Better

Finally a February afternoon at the beach. We both feel recharged, and the dog feels much happier after a good salt dip!!

imag0026.jpg

Always a good time to dig in the rocks. And I had my coat on, but he is one warm boy.

imag0032.jpg

The snowy mountains are on the mainland of BC, the coastal mountains. As you can see we are quite close to the mainland at this part of the island. In the picture below you can see the beginning of Quadra Island, one of many islands between us and the mainland if you go directly across from the town front.

imag0030.jpg

See the barge going through the channel? We can sit and watch boats of all kinds pass by, as it is the channel through which all ships must travel to go north (otherwise they have to go on the open west coast of our big island, and not many like that rough trip).

PS I was thinking of you, Olga.


Responses

  1. Beautiful, thank you for sharing. This just makes me feel better and makes me miss Washington states where I am from. It is like I just took a breath through your blog. Oh, thanks. -Sharon

  2. OOO- that is gonna be my next escape from the frost giants!!!! And I’m bringing my dog too!

  3. Beautiful, Kate. Whenever I see photos like this of BC, or hear your stories, I am overcome by longing and homesickness. And a tad of excitement, too, as I am considering a move to the Pacific Northwest this summer. The area where you live has always felt like my spiritual home, and the thought of making it my real home at last fills me with hope and joy. I just have to keep coming back to your blog to reaffirm this possible decision, especially as we are going through another snow storm!

  4. Thanks for your comment on my blog! I love your photos of BC. I have a step daughter who lives in Seattle; she and her husband have a yurt on Decatur Island in the Sound. I would love to have such a retreat, in the wind, the waves and the excitement of the sea! But, I am an inland landlubber, who also loves freshwater lakes. I content myself with dreams that in my “next life” I will live on the edge of water.


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories