Posted by: Kate | January 24, 2014

Knitted Warmth

The last of the gifts have finally been delivered, so I can share a couple of projects with you.

bev's cowl1

 

This is Col GC, a nice thick cowl. I really liked the cable detail on it. The yarn is Bernat Roving, a very thick acrylic/wool blend. Very soft. The colour is a much deeper plum purple than it shows here, the winter light is simply no good for photos and the flash changes the colour too much. I like this cowl, could see making more as gifts for sure.

Dad's slippers

 

These are Non-Felting Slippers. I have made the pattern before for Mr. Kate and they are holding up well, so thought I would make them again. The bottom is two stash yarns held together and the top is Bernat Roving. To upsize the pattern I use slightly bigger yarn on bigger needles, so they came out to about a men’s medium.

I also finished up a pair of socks for a dear family friend who requested them. My own pattern. I used the Drops Fabel sock yarn. I like the colours but don’t love the yarn – almost every skein (I used it for three pairs of socks) had knots in it, and the yarn is a little rough and fluffy to knit with.

Pat's blue socks1

 

A little Panda action in that last shot, her curiousity got the better of her!

 

Responses

  1. such lovely gifts so thoughtful and talented x

    • Thank you!

  2. such great gifts! that cowl looks especially snuggly!! i love the cable details!
    and hello panda!!
    i love when kitties can’t control themselves and sneak into the photo :)

    • She was just too curious :)

  3. Very nice projects, Kate! I agree about the Drops Fabel yarn being a bit rough to knit with, but the socks last forever.

    • That’s good to know about the Fabel, thanks!

  4. Great projects. Love the slippers and that gorgeous snuggly cowl. Pretty socks too! You have been busy. Ros

    • Definitely on a knitting spree right now.

  5. I LOVE your knitting! I drooled over your very pretty coloured cowl in all it’s cabled glory. I must try one for myself. I love the slippers and socks, too, you’ll be making someone very very happy :) You have been a busy bee!

    (I apologize for not writing sooner, life just got away from me. It’s at warp-speed, I swear!).

    • I have noticed your absence, figured you were busy as ever! Always lovely to see you back.

      • Thx Kate! I’m baaaack!


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers