Posted by: Kate | January 20, 2014

Sea Birds

I love walking along the water at this time of year, as we get so many different sea birds visiting. They are hard to photograph though, as the lighting isn’t great and often they are bobbing on the dark water. So I just admire them, and sometimes look them up in my bird book when we get home. Of course, there are always bald eagles around, and a few herons, and cormorants, along with the visitors. But the most common shore bird, by far, is the gull.

Seagulls, beach chickens, s**t hawks …. there are as many names as there are colourations. They make you nervous when they fly overhead. They love food and will arrive in droves if you toss any their way. (Have you seen Finding Nemo? They really are like that. “Food, food, food; mine, mine, mine!!!”) Seagulls get a bad rap, but they do have their own beauty. And I like that they hang out together, near the water. I can relate to that.

birds in a row

Responses

  1. I’m impressed you could find something nice to say about seagulls. You are a much nicer person than I am!

    • They’ve kind of grown on me….

  2. gorgeous photo!
    we have a few sea gulls (or river gulls, since that’s the only water we have around here?!?) around town, but not enough to make them irritating :)

  3. I love the gulls, their are so many out here, too. They can be annoying at times. I sometimes think of Jonathon Livingstone Seagull (sp?)when one flies close to me. And, of course, I LOVE the bald eagles.

    What are cormorants

    • Hey, I remember that book!

      Cormorants are fishing diving birds. Big black birds, very common on the coast.

      • I’ll be looking for cormorants, though I doubt they’d be out here in Kelowna. Thx Kate.


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers