Posted by: Kate | December 5, 2011

Flannel Pillowcases

Knowing that I wouldn’t have time to knit for everyone this Christmas, I turned to my sewing machine. In a Ravelry discussion I had already gotten the idea of winter flannelette pillowcases, and then on a sewing site I frequent I saw a link to a free pattern for cuffed pillowcases. I knew I had found the project for this year.

I love the edging between the cuff and the body of the pillowcase – it adds such a polished touch to the final project. The pattern comes from here, and it was easy to follow and quick as promised. I plan on making three more sets of these at least.

So if you’re looking for a sewing project that will only take a couple of hours to complete and will please almost everyone who receives a set — this one is a winner.

Responses

  1. Gorgeous! I love the fabric design and you’re right, the edging does just finish it off beautifully. Ros

  2. Nice!! I’ll say it’s a winner. They are gorgeous. Who wouldn’t love to receive such a delightful gift? They totally look professionally-made.

    (… off to the fabric store to find some pretty flannel …). Thx for the link :)

  3. oooooh! what a good idea!
    i am totally filing this away for next year! or maybe for birthdays… maybe everyone will get flannel pillowcases for their birthday this year!!

  4. Fun! I need a sewing machine…

  5. What a great idea! I am going to pass this along to my daughter-in-law. I love how you picked out material that looks like Fair Isle knitting!

  6. Very pretty! One of these days I am going to have to buy a sewing machine.

  7. Love these! I didn’t look at the pattern, but wonder if it is the same one my mom used (and she taught me to use)…because they have that little ‘cuff inset’ as well that I think makes the case (no pun intended). And I agree that flannel pillowcases are a perfect gift idea that can be sewn up quite quickly!


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers