Posted by: Kate | December 4, 2009

Friday Quote

No one is born hating another person because of the colour of his skin, or his background, or his religion. People must learn to hate and if they can learn to hate, they can be taught to love, for love comes more naturally to the human heart than its opposite.

-Nelson Mandela in his biography

I like to think he’s right, although on some days I find it harder to believe he is. I believe both can be taught, I’m just not sure that either comes more naturally. The fact though, that he believes it, is amazing to me.

Responses

  1. i think i’d have to agree with you, i’m not sure which one comes more naturally… people certainly have a tendency to have an knee-jerk reaction to be fearful of things which are different from them.
    but you’re definitely right – it is inspiring that mandela believes in the power of love.

  2. My first thought when reading this is exactly what both you and Melissa said…and it seems to me that regardless of which comes more naturally, I think it’s really hard to change hate if it’s already there. Of course, I’ve been called a pessimist once or twice in my life!

    I am glad, though that there are nelson Mandela’s in this world whose optimism can cancel out my pessimism! :)


Welcome! I always like to hear what people think of a post, it often leads to a great discussion! I am now responding to comments and questions right in the comments themselves, so other people can follow the conversation.

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers